Your body will thank you.

I think this whole body acceptance movement that’s been going on lately is amazing. It’s important for women to feel comfortable in the body they live in. That’s the body you walk around in every day, the body that you play with your children in, and the body you fall asleep in every night. For me, feeling comfortable in my body came when I started to make it a HEALTHY body. For once in my life, it isn’t about the size of the jeans I’m wearing. What makes me feel good is that I’m fueling it with food that will make it function at it’s highest potential. I don’t eat until I’m uncomfortably full, and I don’t have to be hungry throughout the day. When you’re putting good in, you get good out. My body fell into the weight it’s supposed to be, and I feel and look the best I ever have. That’s because I’m happy, and I’m happy because I’m healthy! And skinny doesn’t necessarily mean healthy. That’s not what this post is about. But there comes a point when you have to ask yourself, “Why am I putting this in my body?” Is it because you’re bored? Is it because you’re sad? Or is it because you’re listening to your body and it’s telling you that it’s time to fuel it? If you’re eating for any reason other than the last one, there’s a good chance you are going to make a poor food choice, and maybe you don’t need what you’re about to eat.

Of course it’s okay to eat a piece of cake at a birthday party, or have a glass of wine after work once or twice a week. But when that becomes the norm for you, and you’re eating muffins for breakfast every morning, or slathering butter or adding cheese to everything you eat, your body isn’t going to thank you. Your body will thank you when you give it fiber, nutrients, and plenty of water and exercise. When you’re living a healthy lifestyle, making smart choices in your diet, and adding exercise to your day, your body will fall into the shape that it’s supposed to be. If you’re at an unhealthy weight, or a weight you aren’t happy with, it means you’re making unhealthy food decisions.

On the other hand, healthy doesn’t have to mean all or nothing in the beginning. Making one simple change at a time can make a world of a difference…because they will all add up! A few ideas for simple changes can be: swapping out soda with water, taking the stairs instead of the elevator, having apple slices on the side instead of chips, taking your kids to the park instead of sitting and watching a movie.

Because of the simple changes I decided to incorporate, which are now second nature to me every day, staying in shape is very easy for me now. Especially staying home with Brea every day, most of my exercise is just being an active parent and DOING things with her. It’s just part of my day! Instead of sitting inside all day or on the weekends, we play outside. We run around and we take walks together. We go to kid’s gyms where I don’t just sit on the sidelines but play WITH her. I clean my house every day. I’m up the stairs, down the stairs (and you can multiply that by about 45!). Getting in shape may seem like a very daunting thing. But once you start to make some simple changes and your body starts to follow, staying in shape does not have to be hard. Especially if you have an active child to keep you going. 😉

While writing this, my daughter opened the refrigerator and grabbed an apple. Sat down next to me, cuddled up, and started chomping away at it. That right there is another big reason why I’m so glad I chose to take my health back. My daughter is watching everything I do. She’s watching what I do (and don’t) decide to prepare and eat for dinner every night. She’s watching the snacks I eat. I’m teaching her right now what healthy snacking looks like. It doesn’t look like cuddling up with a bag of chips. It looks like cuddling up with an apple and a big water bottle next to her.

I encourage anyone reading this to take their health back, too. Your body and your happiness are waiting for you!

DSC_8104.jpg

Leave a Reply

